A long, long time ago in a place far away, I used to jog.

I established my rhythm on a cement path cut through the trees. It’s usually a time when ideas flow and a ‘V-8’ moment occurs. This particular day offered up a different scenario.

Ahead was a white spot, definitely something not natural.

What the heck? I thought, my head still not in creative mode.

A Styrofoam cup was purposely jammed on a branch.

I maintained my pace, only to stop a few yards later.

What kind of nut-job would do such a stupid thing?

I retrieved the cup and continued my jog. Now my head had material to work with. By the time I got home I had my Styrofoam cup story all but on paper.

It only took me three years, 200 mile move and the making of a new friend to bring my unmotivated self to publish my first story.

Sometimes it takes the right person an a verbal kick in the fanny to realize a plan of action.

Fillup the Cup is available on Amazon. Click here

9 thoughts on “Cup on a Stick

  1. It’s a crazy thing to me when I think back to all of the crazy stories in my head I have not written yet. I used to write fiction a LOT more than I do now. It’s funny too how such a simple thing like a cup in a tree can inspire something to tell…and how it strikes the imagination the way it does. I remember writing a story after seeing a woman frantic outside a bookstore…the imagination was struck wondering what happened in that bookstore to make her act the way she was. Lots of fun. Glad you got to finally write your yarn.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment